My 15 minutes of fame…

14 Jan

Behind the cameras with Santa

So those that know me, know I recently got to experience a fantastic trip abroad to Vienna, Austria. Well this was a whole exciting surprise for my uncle there, who was doing an advertising campaign with the tourism board of Austria and Jung v. Matt. They flew my Mom and Aunt (and me and my Dad) out to reunite with him as a surprise on for the last advent calendar spot in the campaign. See the video here!

We felt like rockstars for a few hours as they filmed us up to the reuniting with my uncle at the airport and we were given the royal treatment upon arrival at our hotel and given a fun night out at the pub from some of the guys who were on the video crew and were friends of my Uncle in town. We had an absolute blast, and I actually spoke on camera in a bit of CNN coverage by my new friend, Tracy. She was fantastic to talk to as well about my traveling santa uncle, and what it was like growing up with a personality like his!

Santa and companypub dinner with the crew & santa

Last Dinner with Santa & friendsOne of my favorite parts of Vienna was… The people! They were so welcoming, so friendly and really took care of us while we were there. They made sure we knew where we were going, had directions to things, got to experience so many parts of the city, and kept checking in with us during our stay. A couple of friends of Santa’s even stopped by the night before we were leaving to say goodbye after they flew back from a weekend working/partying in the Alps just to see us off. I can’t thank everyone enough for all they did for us and are doing for my Uncle there. He has truly found a home in Vienna!

DSC_0325I also loved the architecture of all the buildings. It was just astounding to be surrounded by so many different styles and ages of beautiful artwork. Walking around the city I felt like I was in paradise. I really felt at home with the cobblestone streets, so many ways to travel around town (public transportation of every kind!), and so many TALL PEOPLE! It was wonderful. And of course, at this time of year, The Christmas Markets were also amazing! I really enjoyed the “punch” and all the crafts that artisans of every type made. We brought home so many treasures for ourselves and our friends and family… I only wish I had more money to bring even more home with me!

I’ll miss you Vienna and can’t wait to come back. Hopefully it will be soon! Thank you to everyone who made this trip so spectacular! We so appreciate you, your country, your city, and your hospitality. ❤

DSC_0171

15 Responses to “My 15 minutes of fame…”

  1. Jessi O. January 14, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Sounds like a great trip! Who are those hotties in the top photo? Your cousins?
    Whew!!
    🙂

    • marykoster January 14, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

      Lol, friends of Santa. They were so nice and not relatives. They cooked for us our first full day there!

  2. Van Son Coaching January 15, 2014 at 3:53 pm #

    I’m so jealous! I’ve never been to Vienna. We planned to go in December, but it ended up not fitting into our schedule 😦 We now how to go when the weather is nice.

    • marykoster January 15, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

      I have never been there either and I definitely recommend it. I would like to go back to that area and explore the countryside as well. I wish you well making it there, but the christmas markets in winter are just beautiful, so going in winter around the holidays is magnificent.

  3. Joanne January 15, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    I just saw the video – how cool is that!!! And that was more than a bit on camera. Vienna is on my travel bucket list. Thanks for the pics 🙂

    • marykoster January 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm #

      For the CNN one, it was definitely a bit on camera. On the advertising advent calendar, I was background..but the real story was the reunion of my uncle and my mom and aunt…so I get why they did it that way. Everyone wanted ‘more’ from the calendar, so hopefully the CNN coverage helps with that! I could have been seen worldwide over the holidays! How strange is that to think about?

  4. Lauren Brinkac @ DC Healthy Bites January 15, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    Wow, what a fantastic experience and so cool that you not only surprised your uncle but you now have a video to remember it by. Vienna is on my must see list and it sounds like during the holidays it was absolutely beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    • marykoster January 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm #

      The surprise was SO much fun. Seeing his face on the video as he realized who it was for real was priceless. And yes, need to download those videos to have them forever. I highly recommend visiting when you can! Just make sure to bring layers upon layers for winter dates – you will be out in the streets morning and night in frigid temps, but it’s SO worth it.

  5. virginiacolin January 15, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    Wow, what a fantastic gift! It’s completely beyond the range of anything anyone in my family ever considered.

    • marykoster January 15, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

      Going to vienna? or being a part of an advertising campaign? heh..that kinda thing (the later) comes along once in a lifetime! The trip to vienna – I definitely recommend it if you can! so many gorgeous sites, and really puts our young country into perspective when we visit places much older than ours…

  6. Penny Bergstrom January 15, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

    What a wonderful story and trip Mary! Thanks for sharing, Penny

    • marykoster January 15, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

      Aww you’re welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  7. cassi9879b January 16, 2014 at 12:55 am #

    What a great experience! How many countries has your uncle visited as a traveling Santa?

    • marykoster January 16, 2014 at 1:02 am #

      I wish I knew.. he claims to have hitchhiked over 1 million miles at this point so no telling. He has travelled the world and lived in many places… if you ever meet him, he will tell you many stories, but I don’t know the answer to that question..he may not either! 😀

    • marykoster January 17, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

      Hey Cassi, I just read a blog post about my uncle on the Austrian Airlines site and it says “81 countries, 1 million miles and one Santa Claus: In our #redblog we tell you the incredible story of Travelling Santa Michael Hampton Klein: http://bit.ly/Travelling_Santa_redblog #travellingsanta” 🙂 check it out here:
      http://www.red-blog.at/en/2013/12/excuse-me-arent-you-santa-claus/

Leave a Reply

